Vendémiaire, by Apollinaire (excerpts)

Posted: January 11, 2011 in Apollinaire, Vendémiaire
Tags: , ,

“Vendémaire” is the first month of the revolutionary French calendar; it corresponds to September (from the 22nd) and October (to the 21st) of the Gregorian calendar. The word comes from “vendanges” (grape harvest), which happen during this period.

This long poem was published in Alcools; I give and translate here its first and last verses.

Hommes de l’avenir souvenez-vous de moi
Je vivais à l’époque où finissaient les rois
Tour à tour ils mouraient silencieux et tristes
Et trois fois courageux devenaient trismégistes

Que Paris était beau à la fin de septembre
Chaque nuit devenait une vigne où les pampres
Répandaient leur clarté sur la ville et là-haut
Astres mûrs becquetés par les ivres oiseaux
De ma gloire attendaient la vendange de l’aube

Un soir passant le long des quais déserts et sombres
En rentrant à Auteuil j’entendis une voix
Quui chantait gravement se taisant quelquefois
Pour que parvînt aussi sur les bords de la Seine
La plainte d’autres voix limpides et lointaines

Et j’écoutai longtemps tous ces chants et ces cris
Qu’éveillait dans la nuit la chanson de Paris

J’ai soif villes de France et d’Europe et du monde
Venez toutes couler dans ma gorge profonde

Je vis alors que déjà ivre dans la vigne Paris
Vendangeait le raisin le plus doux de la terre
Ces grains miraculeux aui aux treilles chantèrent

[…]

Actions belles journées sommeils terribles
Végétation Accouplements musiques éternelles
Mouvements Adorations douleur divine
Mondes qui vous rassemblez et qui nous ressemblez
Je vous ai bus et ne fut pas désaltéré

Mais je connus dès lors quelle saveur a l’univers

Je suis ivre d’avoir bu tout l’univers
Sur le quai d’où je voyais l’onde couler et dormir les bélandres

Écoutez-moi je suis le gosier de Paris
Et je boirai encore s’il me plaît l’univers

Écoutez mes chants d’universelle ivrognerie

Et la nuit de septembre s’achevait lentement
Les feux rouges des ponts s’éteignaient dans la Seine
Les étoiles mouraient le jour naissait à peine

***

Men of the future you shall remember me
I lived at the time when kings died successively
In silence and sorrow they would accomplish their fate
And thrice courageous become thrice great

How beautiful Paris was at September’s end
Every night into a fair vineyard would mend
Its grapes enlighten the city and the sky
Ripe stars eaten by birds drunken and high
From my glory they would expect the harvest of dawn

One night walking along the deserted and dark quays
To go back to Auteuil I heard a voice singing
It was deep and grave now and then stopping
So to the banks of the Seine also may reach
From other voices the mournful and clear speech

For a long time I listened to the airs of the rite
Woken up by the song of Paris at night

I thirst towns of France Europe and the world
Come and in my gaping throat be swirled

Then I saw Paris drunk already between the vines
It was harvesting the sweetest grapes ever
Their miraculous song rose in the arbour

[…]

Actions beautiful days terrible sleeps
Vegetation Couplings eternal melodies
Movements Adorations heavenly pain
Worlds looking alike and alike us as well
I drank you up and my thirst remained

But henceforth I knew the taste of the universe

I am drunk with the whole universe
On the bank where I saw the waters flowing and the crafts
sleeping

Listen to me I am the gullet of Paris
And again if I please I will drink the universe

Listen to my song of universal drunkenness

And the night of September was finishing slowly
The red lights of bridges were sinking in the Seine
The stars were dying the day was barely awake

Leave a Reply

